Home   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join Now

What's the Buzz?

 


Register Is Now Open! Don't Miss Some Fun in the Sun with ABF for Palm Trees & Healthy Bees! 

The 2016 American Beekeeping Federation Conference & Tradeshow will be held in Ponte Vedra Beach (Jacksonville) Florida at the Sawgrass Marriott Golf Resort & Spa, January 5-9, 2016.Join us in sunny Florida for Palm Trees & Healthy Bees - where we'll focus on improving bee colony health and sustainability during a challenging time for beekeepers. As always, this conference promises to bring you the most up-to-date information within the beekeeping industry, the latest products and services offered by our many exhibitors and sponsors and fantastic opportunities for you to network with your fellow beekeepers. 

Begin your New Year with mild temperatures and hundreds of fellow beekeepers sharing experiences, best practices and research while making like-minded friends.

Register Now!


New Conversation with a Beekeeper Webinars and Archived Sessions Available

 

Know Your Mite Load: The Key to Keeping Healthy Bees

Tuesday, August 18, 2015
8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT / 6:00 p.m. MT / 5:00 p.m. PT / 4:00 p.m. AKST / 3:00 p.m. HST
Greg Hannaford, owner of Ozark Bee Supply 
SESSION DETAILS:  

Whether you are a conventional, chemical free, or treatment free beekeeper, it is important to know how your bees are dealing with mites in order to bee successful. In this webinar we will discuss why it is important to know how many mites you have, and how to do a mite count to get valid numbers. Methods discussed will be the alcohol wash, sugar roll and sticky board.

Primetime with Honey bees: Beekeeping, Honey Bees and More! - Part One

Wednesday, August 26, 2015
8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT / 6:00 p.m. MT / 5:00 p.m. PT / 4:00 p.m. AKST / 3:00 p.m. HST
Tim Tucker, ABF President and owner of Tuckerbees Honey
SESSION DETAILS:  

“Bee educated” about honey bees and how you — yes, you — can help reverse their population decline. Join the American Beekeeping Federation (ABF) for a free, public three-part webinar series about the basics of beekeeping and honey bees. Sessions are 90 minutes each and allow you to interact with expert beekeepers and ABF members! The first session is on Wednesday, August 26, 2015, at 8:00 PM ET. ABF President Tim Tucker shares an overview of honey bee biology and an explanation of how and why we keep them the way we do today.

Register Now!

Primetime with Honey bees: Beekeeping, Honey Bees and More! - Part Two

Wednesday, September 23, 2015
9:00 p.m. ET / 8:00 p.m. CT / 7:00 p.m. MT / 6:00 p.m. PT / 5:00 p.m. AKST / 4:00 p.m. HST
Blake Shook, ABF Board Member and owner of Desert Creek Honey
SESSION DETAILS:  

The second session is on Wednesday, September 23, 2015, at 9:00 PM ET. Blake Shook, ABF board member and a commercial beekeeper, speaks about the necessity of pollination to the honey industry specifically and the farming industry more broadly (we’re talking economic impact in the billions of dollars!). Pollination is one of the honey bee’s largest and most pressing tasks, so this is a session you won’t want to miss.

Register Now! 

Primetime with Honey Bees: Beekeeping, Honey Bees and More! - Part Three

Wednesday, November 11, 2015
10:00 p.m. ET / 9:00 p.m. CT / 8:00 p.m. MT / 7:00 p.m. PT / 6:00 p.m. AKST / 5:00 p.m. HST
Gene Brandi, ABF Vice President and owner of Gene Brandi Apiaries 
SESSION DETAILS:  

This last session is on Wednesday, November 11, 2015, at 10:00 PM ET. ABF Vice President Gene Brandi shares challenges that beekeepers face and the effects of pesticides on the honey bee population. Beekeepers are losing 30-50% of their hives each year, so this is a pressing issue for all who are interested in the population. Gene will update us on everything that ABF board members and leaders are doing to help reverse the trend, and provides insight into how everyone can lend a helping hand.

Register Now!


IMPORTANT SESSION FORMAT / REGISTRATION INFORMATION
 
The sessions will be conducted via the GoToWebinar online meetings platform, which means the presenter will have a visual presentation, as well as an audio presentation. Upon entering the session online, you may choose whether to listen to the presentation through your computer's speakers or through your phone.
 
Reserve your spot today by going to our Education & Events Page/Conversation with A Beekeeper Webinar Series. You must log into your ABF membership account to register. Registration will close 24 business hours before the scheduled session. Twenty-four hours before the session the registered participant will receive an e-mail confirming participation, along with the necessary information to join the session. If an e-mail address is not provided, the ABF will call the participant with the information. 
 
If you are unable to make the session, don't fear! Each session will be recorded and available on the ABF Web site for ABF member-only access.
 
Have you missed out on any or all of the great webinars we have hosted over the past year?  Good news!  All of the ABF's "Conversation with a Beekeeper" webinars are archived on the ABF website and you can easily access them at your convenience.
 
You will need to log into your account to access the sessions.  If you don't remember your username or password, please contact Valerie Lake at valerielake@abfnet.org

 Have you missed out on any or all of the great webinars we have hosted over the past year?  Good news!  All of the ABF's "Conversation with a Beekeeper" webinars are archived on the ABF website and you can easily access them at your convenience.  You can catch up on the following sessions: 

  • Dr. Marion Ellis – Diseases of Honey Bee Part Two
  • Dr. Roger Hoopingarner – Beekeeping 101 Series
  • Blake Shook – Beginning Beekeeper Six part Series
  • Environmental Protection Agency Series

Most sessions are uploaded to the website within the next day or two after the live presentation, so the page is updated at least one a month with new sessions.  Click here to access the sessions.  Scroll down to the "Archived Sessions" section and choose the session you would like to listen to.  


Industry News & Notes 

 

Bee Haulers the Latest to get Hours of Service Exemption from FMCSA 

Source: Matt Cole, www.overdriveonline.com  

The FMCSA has granted interstate bee haulers an exemption of the 30-minute break requirement in the hours of service regulations, originally requested by bee farmers in January.

The California Farm Bureau Federation requested the exemption because bees, while in transit, must have “a flow of cool, fresh air to the hives” and any heat can place the bees in danger. If trucks transporting beehives stop for 30 minutes in warm weather, “the risk of harm to the bees would be significant and possibly fatal.” Read More.

 

EPA Takes Strong Steps to Better Protect Bees from Pesticides

from the EPA's Office of Pesticide Programs  

To further support President Obama’s Federal Pollinator Strategy, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is proposing additional restrictions on the use of acutely toxic pesticides during times when bees are most likely to be present.

Applications of acutely toxic pesticides would be prohibited when flowers are in bloom when bees are brought to farms for pollination services. While the proposed restrictions focus on managed bees, EPA believes that these measures will also protect native bees and other pollinators that are in and around treatment areas. Read More.

 

USDA Announces Available Funding for Farm Bill Broadband Loan Program 

WASHINGTON, July 30, 2015 – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack today announced the availability of loans to build broadband in rural areas, along with changes to the program required by the 2014 Farm Bill.

"USDA is committed to providing broadband to rural areas," Vilsack said. "Broadband is as vital as electricity was 80 years ago. Since 2009, USDA investments have delivered broadband service to 1.5 million households, businesses, schools, libraries and community facilities. But our work is not done. With program improvements and available funding made possible by the Farm Bill, we can continue our work to make broadband more accessible to those who live and work in rural areas." Read More. 

 

 




Call for Papers/Presentations

ABF is pleased to announce that the call for papers/presentations is now open. If you have important beekeeping research to share, a best practice in beekeeping or a proven track record with keeping the hives alive, we want to hear from you. Please complete the call for papers submission form and return to Tara Zeravsky no later than July 8th. The conference committee will review all submissions to put together the most informative conference agenda available. You will be notified of your participation in early September. As a reminder, all presenters receive complimentary registration to the conference. All other expenses are the responsibility of the presenter.

We are looking forward to Palm Trees and Healthy Bees in sunny Florida. We hope to see you all there!

Community Search
Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Sponsors

3525 Piedmont Road, Building 5, Suite 300
Atlanta, Georgia 30305
Phone: 404-760-2875    E-mail: info@abfnet.org
Copyright© 2015 American Beekeeping Federation - All Rights Reserved